I made the New York Times olive oil brownies again, seen previously here and here. This time, in true Seattle fashion, I decided to fill them with blackberries! (The original version has coconut flakes inside and on top, which is lovely, but we ran out of coconut and have LOTS of blackberries these days.)

Just for fun, I took pictures throughout the process. But I had to use the flash on my camera because it was cloudy and the light was low, so beware.

First you chop the chocolate (above). Then you whisk in some water and oil.

The texture is fairly chunky and unpleasant, but when you whisk in the egg it becomes all smooth and lovely!

Add cup and a quarter of sugar (for half the recipe, which works nicely in an 8×8 pan):

To make the blackberry filling, I reduced a half-cup or so of berries in vermouth and a bit of sugar. The result was basically identical to jam.

I made three layers in an 8×8 pan: brownie batter, blackberry filling, and then brownie batter again on top. (I worried that blackberries on top would burn.)

These came out really gooey, so in my opinion they are best eaten straight from the freezer.

Last night we saw Higher Ground, charmingly reviewed in The New Yorker a couple issues back. We both really liked the movie. Tonight we’re having dinner at Tilth (which we’ve been anticipating since July) and we are super excited.